Rivermen Headlines

Jason Christie's Hall of Fame Induction Will be November 19
Published: November 2nd 2010 @ 12:00 AM


The Peoria Rivermen have announced that the induction ceremony for Jason Christie into the Peoria Rivermen Hockey Hall of Fame will take place during their game on Nov. 19.   The Rivermen host the Abbotsford Heat at 7:05 p.m. and Christie will be formally inducted during an on-ice ceremony after the first period.  



Christie, 42, finished his playing career with the Rivermen and a Kelly Cup championship in 2000, has been voted hall of fame as a coach and the lone inductee for the 2010 class.   He began his coaching career with the Rivermen in 2000 after nine seasons of professional hockey as a player. He went on to coach five seasons and still holds the franchise record with 233 wins as a head coach. Christie will become the fifth coach, in the 29-year history of the franchise, inducted into the Rivermen Hall of Fame following Pat Kelly (1991), Bob Plager (1994), Wayne Thomas (1996) and Don Granato (2008). 


There are currently 32 members of the Rivermen Hall of Fame comprised of two wings. There are 23 players and four coaches along with five members of the Builders Wing. This will be the second consecutive season in which only one new member is elected following Trevor Baker’s induction in 2009. Christie will also be the fifth member to represent the ECHL Rivermen joining Doug Evans (1991), Joe Rybar (2008), Granato and Baker. 


The assistant captain of the 1999-00 championship team spent just the one memorable season on the ice with Peoria and accumulated 56 points (21 goals, 35 assists) in 64 games.