Rivermen Headlines

Rivermen Announce Opening Roster for 30th Season
Published: October 7th 2011 @ 12:58 PM


The Peoria Rivermen will open the 30th season of professional hockey in Peoria on Saturday night with 24 players on their roster, including 14 forwards, eight defensemen and two goaltenders.  The Rivermen will host the Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville) at 7 p.m. on Saturday night at Carver Arena.


The Rivermen have 17 players returning this year from the 2010-11 squad.  The roster is comprised of five rookies and five veterans. The 24 active players have combined experience of 2,913 AHL games and 783 games in the National Hockey League.


Peoria, the top affiliate of the St. Louis Blues, open the 2011-12 season with the following players:


Forwards (14)

7          TJ Hensick                                C

                        8          Phil McRae                               C

                        10         Chase Polacek                           RW

                        12         Brett Sonne                              C

                        14         Jonathan Cheechoo                    RW

            16         Kyle Hagel                               LW

                        17         Derek Nesbitt                          LW

                        18         Stefan Della Rovere                  LW

                        19         Adam Cracknell                        RW

                        20         Jay Barriball                             RW

                        23         Anthony Peluso                         RW

                        24         Anthony Nigro                         C

            26         Tyler Shattock                          RW

            29         Brett Sterling                           LW


Defense (8)

3          Jake Gannon                              D

                        4          Brett Ponich                              D

                        5          David Shields                            D

            15         Mark Cundari                           D

            25         Danny Syvret                           D

            27         Cade Fairchild                          D

                        28         Ian Cole                                   D

            44         Brennan Evans                          D


Goaltenders (2)

30         Ben Bishop                    G

34         Jake Allen                     G