Rivermen Headlines

Rivermen Set 2012 Clear Day Roster
Published: March 6th 2012 @ 9:50 AM



The Peoria Rivermen announced today the team’s 2012 Clear Day Roster, consisting of two goalies and 20 skaters. The 22-man roster designates the players eligible to compete in the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs, with players in residence added as needed due to injury or recall.


According to AHL by-laws, only those players listed on a team’s Clear Day roster are eligible to compete in the remainder of the 2011-12 AHL regular season and in the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs, unless emergency conditions arise as a result of recall, injury or suspension. Teams may also add signed junior players or players on amateur tryout contracts after their respective junior or college seasons are complete.


The following players comprise the Rivermen Clear Day Roster:


Goaltenders (2): Jake Allen, Alex Stalock


Skaters (20): Chris Bruton, Jonathan Cheechoo, Adam Cracknell, Mark Cundari, Stefan Della Rovere, Brennan Evans, Cade Fairchild, Evgeny Grachey, T.J. Hensick, Shaun Heshka, Phil McRae, Derek Nesbitt, Anthony Nigro, Patrick O'Sullivan, Anthony Peluso, Brett Ponich, Tyler Shattock, David Shields, Brett Sonne, Danny Syvret


Sixteen of the AHL’s 30 teams will qualify for the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs, which will get under way during the third week of April. For complete qualification rules and up-to-date standings, as well as for Calder Cup history, records and all-time championship rosters, visit theahl.com

The AHL’s championship trophy is named after Hockey Hall of Famer Frank Calder, who served as the first president of the National Hockey League from 1917-43. During the 1920s, Calder was instrumental in guiding professional hockey into the mainstream of the United States’ major cities, including New York, Boston, Chicago and Detroit, while also helping in the formation of the American Hockey League. 

In operation since 1936, the AHL is the top development league for the players, coaches, officials, managers, executives and broadcasters for the National Hockey League and its 30 teams. More than 85 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates – including former Calder Cup champions such as Mike Richards, Jeff Carter, Mikhail Grabovski, Carey Price, Bryan Little, Michal Neuvirth and Bobby Butler – and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame came through the AHL.