Rivermen Headlines

Rank Named SPHL Goaltender of the Year
Published: April 1st 2014 @ 10:35 AM by: Alan Fuehring



Dennis Sievers/Peoria Rivermen


HUNTERSVILLE, NC – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Tuesday announced that Kyle Rank of the Peoria Rivermen has been selected as the Sher-Wood Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.

Ross MacKinnon of the Pensacola Ice Flyers finished second in the voting.

Rank, who was acquired in a trade with Fayetteville on December 18, set a new SPHL single-season record with eight shutouts (seven with Peoria), while his 1.89 goals against average and .938 save percentage were both the second-best marks in league history.  Rank went 19-8-3 for the season, posting the third-most wins among goaltenders.

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2013-14 - Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen

2012-13 - Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators

2011-12 - Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Wednesday.


2014-15 season ticket packages are on sale now and can be purchased through the Rivermen office by calling 309-676-1040! This year, fans who pay in full before May 9 have the chance to win some of the most unique prizes in franchise history through the “45 Days of Hockey – Rivermen Season Ticket Renewal Program.” For more information, click here.