Rivermen Issue Challenge, Set to Face Roanoke

April 8, 2018 - 07:30 pm

Photo Credit: Dennis Sievers/Peoria Rivermen

Rivermen Issue Challenge, Set to Face Roanoke

Series will begin Wednesday in Roanoke before concluding at Owens Center


Peoria, IL – The Peoria Rivermen announced today as part of the SPHL’s inaugural Challenge Round Selection broadcast that the team has challenged eight-seeded Roanoke to begin the post-season schedule. The Best-Of-3 series will take place at Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA, nearby the host Rail Yard Dawgs’ Berglund Center, while Game 2, and Game 3 if necessary, will take place at Peoria’s Owens Center due to a scheduling conflict with the Peoria Civic Center.


Peoria and Roanoke will kick off their Challenge Round schedule Wednesday night at Liberty University with a 6 PM Central Time puck drop. The series will then shift to Peoria’s Owens Center for 7:15 PM puck drops Friday, and Saturday if necessary, to determine who advances to the President’s Cup Semi Finals.


Tickets for Friday’s game will go on sale through the Rivermen office beginning Monday morning. Fans who set Peoria’s “Pay as We Play package will still have those tickets honored in the General Admission seating at Owens Center. Fans wishing to purchase single-game tickets for Friday’s game can do so through the Rivermen office, with bleacher seats available for $15 and standing room seats available for $12, with all seating categorized as General Admission.


The Rivermen enter this year’s inaugural Challenge Round looking to make a third straight trip to the President’s Cup Finals, while the Rail Yard Dawgs make their first post-season appearance in their second SPHL season. The Rivermen and Rail Yard Dawgs met five times in the regular season, with Peoria capturing four of the five contests, with 6-1 wins at Carver Arena December 23 and this past Friday, adding wins 2-1 and 5-2 March 30 and 31, respectively, in Roanoke. The Rivermen enter the Challenge Round after concluding a 38-13-5 regular season, giving the Rivermen their third William B. Coffey Trophy win in the last four seasons. In SPHL history six of the 13 Coffey Trophy Winners have gone on to capture the President’s Cup.


Group, single game, and season tickets for Peoria's 36th season of professional hockey presented by Midwest Orthopaedic Center are on sale at the Toyota Box Office in the Peoria Civic Center, or by phone at the Rivermen office, located at 201 S.W. Jefferson Street, or over the phone at (309) 676-1040. For the latest Rivermen news and notes, follow online at www.rivermen.net or through Facebook (www.facebook.com/PeoriaRivermen) - Twitter(https://twitter.com/Peoria_Rivermen)